Beaches of Madagascar - Nosy Be
Choose the tour Discover the beach resorts of Madagascar. The island of Nosy be (Nosy Be) – business card Spa Madagascar or "Big island", one of the most prominent centers…

Continue reading →

Tours in Carinthia at low prices. Holidays in Carinthia and booking of hotels in Austria - the Tourist firm "YANA"
Holidays in Carinthia CARINTHIA is the southernmost Federal state of Austria, which falls in the summer most of Sunny days. The famous Carinthian lakes and mountains is a national treasure…

Continue reading →

The Geography of Austria. Federal lands and major lakes in Austria

Austria lies in southern Central Europe, its total area is 83 871 km2. It borders with several countries: Switzerland, Czech Republic, Italy, Hungary, Slovenia, Slovakia, Liechtenstein and Germany. The total length of its state borders with other countries reached Austria 2.706 km stretches in the latitudinal direction at 580 km, from North to 294 km. About 60% of the territory is covered by mountains and therefore the country is sometimes called the Alpine Republic. This is North Alps – the top of the Hoher-Dachstein reaches a height of 2995 meters and Central crystalline Alps, their highest point is mount großglockner, reaching a height of 3797 meters. The area covered by forests is about 38 % of the whole territory of the country, arable land is about 20 % of the country and 24% is pasture land.

Landscape zone of Austria:

Part of the Eastern Alps (52600 square kilometers, accounts for 62.8% of the country territory)

Part of the Alpine and Carpathian foothills (9500 km 2, of 11.3%)

Spit in the Eastern part of the Pannonian lowland (9500 km 2, of 11.3%)

Part of the plateau in the Bohemian massif (8500 km 2, of 10.2%)

The share of the Vienna basin (3700 km2, or 4.4%)

In Austria about 580 lakes, mostly of glacial origin. The largest lake is lake Neusiedl in Burgenland, approximately 77% of its total area of 315 sq km belongs to Austria, while the remaining part belongs to Hungary. The most famous lake wörthersee and Millstatter, Ossiach and Weissensee in Carinthia. Another famous lake Mondsee and Wolfgangsee on the border of Salzburg and Upper Austria. The main river is the Danube, about 350 km flows through the territory of Austria. Its largest tributaries, Drava, Inn (Salzach), Enns, and Morava.

Austria is divided into 9 Federal provinces: lower Austria, Upper Austria, Styria, Burgenland, Salzburg, Carinthia, Tyrol, Vorarlberg and Vienna.

The largest settlement in Austria is a Metropolitan area in Vienna, with a population of 2067651 (as of 1 January 2005). Thus in the Metropolitan region is concentrated a quarter of the population of the state. Other major cities are Graz, Linz, Salzburg, and Innsbruck.

The distance from Vienna to other major cities in Europe:

Vienna – Bregenz 505 km Vienna – Innsbruck 390 km